ansible and cloud notes

October 18, 2012

I’ve been working with ansible a lot recently. Fedora has a new public repo:
http://infrastructure.fedoraproject.org/infra/ansible/
and
http://infrastructure.fedoraproject.org/cgit/ansible.git/tree/

That’s just the beginnings of our repo for managing systems. There’s a number of details to work out, though and I have to merge over all the non-private things from our builder repo. I’ve started that process it’s just a matter of making reasonable decisions on where the tasks should live.

Recently I’ve been looking at:
https://github.com/ansible/ansible-provisioning

and figuring out how a euca2ools-based local_action module would work. I can spin up new instances, if they don’t already exist, and then provision them then I can create an entire network from more or less nothing.

Also working out how best to use euca-allocate-address and and associate-address in our infrastructure to provide some persistent and consistent servers/apps in the cloud. I think I have that bit hashed out but we’re discussing some tracking for cloud instances so we can sensibly shut them down when we need to w/o making everyone angry :)

I’m positive I can do all these things with ansible and euca/openstack. The question now is how long it will take to make them all happen.¬†Anyone interested in helping out, come by #fedora-admin and talk to me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

