euca-terminate-instances

November 2, 2012

As I find the need I write functionality I need into the existing euca2ools using their lovely cli python api.

I hate trying to remember an instance id. I know the ip of the host or I know the dns name of the hose. I don’t need to go find the instance id to know which one I want to kill.

But euca-terminate-instances is silly and won’t let me pass in an ip or a hostname. Nor will it let me specify globs :(

So I wrote this

http://fedorapeople.org/cgit/skvidal/public_git/scripts.git/tree/euca/my-terminate-instances.py

It takes public or private ips, public or private dns names (the ones euca or ec2 has) or instance ids.

It also lets you pass file-globs to them. So you can do things like:

my-terminate-instances i-\*

and kill everything you’re running. Isn’t that fun!

enjoy

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

