Fri 12 Mar 2004 20:58:07 GMT

March 12, 2004

Wisdom teeth removal day:

5:20am – power outage at duke, I get paged, run in, spend 1.5hours correcting and cursing, did I mention the cursing.

Come home, crash for 2 hours, shower, curse some more just for the sake of it then off to the doctor at 9:30am

My wisdom teeth were removed, apparently, with great force and I bet there was some evil cackling.🙂 I don’t remember even a little bit of it. I went in, they hooked me up to the bloodpressure and the heart machines, etc. They gave me an iv drip. At one point I saw the doctor put something in the iv. Then I remember waking up and not being able to understand the world other than little flashes of things like the bite-blocks.

Then off to the drug store for the pain medication I’m afraid of🙂

My memory is very fuzzy in those areas mostly b/c of blurriness and confusion. Not a lot of pain then, though. They gave me this long-lasting novocaine stuff and my jaw felt like it didn’t exist. Which, I’m told, is a blessing🙂

Then home, dribble blood and gatorade down my shirt, a lot, ice packs on my face.

I answered some email and got back into the world a bit. Ice, gatorade, water and gauze were the keywords for the day.

Took a nap after a while. Felt a little punched. Woke up and the numbness had worn off, still afraid of my drugs, went to the ibuprofen, instead, 4 of them. The pain right now is not as bad as it was when I had mono and my throat had swolen up to the size of a softball. Those were unhappy times.

The Girl and my mom are here taking care of me. It’s been nice. They’ve done lots of things to help me (like washing all of my clothes) but they also get along really well, and I like that.

When we sat and watched a couple of movies last night it was fun to sit comfortably with them.

In good news: It looks like we’ll be signing a lease on a new house come tomorrow. And it is BEAUTIFUL. Going over tomorrow to sign the lease, and show my mom. If they’ll let us, the Girl is going to take more pictures. It’s stunning. Information here. Hopefully more and bigger pictures and more recent ones, soon.

Yum/Fedora:

I get this phone call last night.

Mike: “Hey, seth, it’s mike, you’ll never believe what’s on techtv.”

Me: “Nope, I won’t, I don’t have cable, what’s up?”

Mike: “Yum, yum is being demoed on techtv – he’s running a yum update right now”

Me: “Wow, that’s completely cool, can you record it or something”

Mike: “No but I found this link” (ok, so he didn’t hot link while calling me but he IM’d it. )

Me: “Thanks, later”

So yum was on techtv on the show ‘screensavers’ it was shown as a part of feature on fedora core. And they didn’t even point out the ways that yum sucks. I was kinda happy about that.

Enough about me.

I’d like to extend my condolences to all those people in spain. I hope you do not have to suffer something like this again. No one should. It’s horrific and random and hateful and pointless.

2 Responses to “Fri 12 Mar 2004 20:58:07 GMT”

  1. wisdom Says:

    Good post on wisdom teeth removal. Thanks for sharing your experience on the surgery. Thanks for offering your condolences to those in pain.

  2. wisdom Says:

    Oh and I forgot to add. If you are curious about wisdom teeth removal and it’s complications you can check out http://www.teethremoval.com.

    I’m not really sure why anyone would get their wisdom teeth out.


Leave a Reply

