blog tool writing and weekend

June 14, 2004

So editing by hand sucks, this we know, duh.🙂 However, it
made me desire to fix this state. So, I looked over the db schemas from
wordpress and took the parts I cared about (just the posts, categories
and authors). Then I wrote some scripts to convert my diary.xml from
advogato and dump them into that db format. Then I grabbed
the htmltmpl
modules that are used in the planet code and grafted the data from the db
out into a template of my choosing. So now I have a db backended blog.

Now to get data into the database! I’ve read through the metaweblog
xmlrpc interface from pyblosxom. For the most basic case it is simple.
So I’ll be hacking on that to get it so I can post from gnome-blog to there.
Once I achieve that, I’m done.🙂. I’ve stolen a lot of concepts from
pyblosxom and after this is said and done I might be able to just write
a sql ‘entries’ for pyblosxom. But this is a good learning experience. I
liked how simple the htmltmpl parsing is and being able to abuse postgres
from python is a good thing. Maybe one more day of concerted work and
I should be able to finish this off. I know, I know, I should be working
on yum, I’m a bad, bad man.

Outside of the coding I spent a fair bit of time with the girl this weekend.
Movie on friday night. Law and Order last night. Went over to CH-Hill on sunday
to get some nice lunch at the mediterreanean(sp?) place. Then to borders so
she could, apparently, buy more or less all the manga they had. I picked up
two things. One in particular is the soundtrack to Love Actually. A great movie.
If you have a date, that is. Not the best movie for by yourself. Nevertheless,
the soundtrack is wonderful. The track by Joni Mitchell is deeply saddening. When
we watched the movie we watched all the extras. This included an interview with
the director where he explained the music selections. I wish more movies had that.
He had gone out of his way to make the tracks match up well with the scene. And you
can tell. A lot of the music on this album is not what I normally listen to.
It’s a little more R&B; than I’m normally into but it’s well worth the listen if
you get a chance. Things flow together well.

It’s a bit disturbing how rapidly west my hours are heading. Need to careen back
toward EDT, I think.

Leave a Reply

