novocaine

August 26, 2004

I think novocaine makes me angry. I’m not sure why but everytime I come back from the dentist I come back angry. It could be the sheer volume of money I’ve given them this year that causes it, though.

Anyway, anger aside. I went to bed at a ridiculous hour last night, something like 10:30 so I woke up at 7:30 completely w/o effort. It’s bizarre. Sadly, it doesn’t work for me b/c I end up feeling guilty that I didn’t work during that time. Nevertheless.

Somethings got accomplished today. Sadly, not many of them by me.

Icon got glump working nicely. It assembles sets of files into a single for outputting from a webserver. This is useful if you’ve got files you want to assemble in a certain order for host configuration.

We use it for iptables and ks.cfg assembly here in the department. Though I can imagine using it for other items, too. He advanced the original scripts considerably. Now it will run from mod_python or as a standalone cgi and does variable replacement in the files.

I’ve been kindly assured by jeremy that there are a few multilib problems in the new yum depresolution code. We got the new penguin boxes in today so I figure I’ll set one up and find out how many I can find. I thought I had it handled properly but it’s entirely possible I missed something, as is always the case with depresolution code. Two more major things to work out before a yum beta release. Just in time for Fedora Core 3 Test 2. Funny how that works out, huh.🙂 The least fun will be updating the docs. And, of course, all of the translations are out. Lots of misc things to do, but more people have commit access now, hopefully they’ll make good use of it.

Leave a Reply

