disturbing revelations

November 29, 2004

yum 2.1.12 is out – that’s mildly disturbing in that I think I fixed a lot of bugs and didn’t introduce a lot of new ones.🙂

It was disclosed to me today that the girl has never had a real xmas tree. I tend to not decorate for xmas b/c I’ve always thought it’s a bit much. I don’t mind other people decorating but it’s not really ever been my deal. I may break that standard that I’ve had for the past 7 years to give the girl the experience of searching for a tree and putting it up (and the agonizing pain that involves🙂

When I was little we lived in an extremely rural area. It’s not that rural now but then it was. I never noticed this b/c that’s just where I lived. I didn’t really notice that it was extremely rural, it just was.

We lived a good ways out in the woods, in a log cabin. I know it sounds like a cliche but that’s where I lived when I was little. So when we wanted a christmas tree my dad would go out with an axe or hand saw, find one and cut it down.

The log cabin had one particular room that had about 15 or 16ft ceilings. A real pain in the arse to heat but a nice room altogether. So we always had huge trees when we lived there. Simply huge trees. Luckily my dad was a house painter so we always had big ladders around to decorate these things properly. And a tree to fill in a room with high ceilings requires lots of decorations. Most of ours came from things my brother and I made in school for the holidays. It was always cool to have a big tree, even if it was only decorated on the sides you could see🙂

Long story short, I’ve had a history with enormous and natural christmas trees. So why not get a reasonable size one this year to let the girl have the full xmas tree experience? I’m not religious at all, much to the contrary, but xmas is almost voided of religion these days, so being able to take advantage of some of the pomp of the holiday w/o having to get involved with the circumstance is good. Take a listen to Vienna Teng’s song “The Atheist Christmas Carol” off of Warm Strangers. It’s a fairly accurate concept of what I think about when I think about christmas these days. Then again, some days the Pogue’s Fairytale of New York is more appropriate.

Noticed Pete’s entry about using yum on a smaller-memory system. A couple of suggestions:

1. yum –disablerepo=base [command] is a good way to cut down the footprint. Especially on commands only dealing with updates or recent files.

2. Buy ram.🙂

I’m open to suggestions on cutting down the memory footprint. I’ve tried a number of things, but python doesn’t seem to like to garbage collect certain types of memory structures. Even when you try to tell it to specifically clean up.

The rss feed commands are bulky b/c it’s reading in the other.xml.gz which is the largest of all of the metadata. If you have a specific use case you’d like to relate to me, maybe I can figure out a good way to trim it down.

NP: Alfie, The Christmas Tree, John Denver and the Muppets – A Christmas Together

Leave a Reply

