disappearing act

January 2, 2005

I’ve been conspicuously absent from external irc, most email and blogging since before xmas. I decided at some point during my christmas break that I need to not be glued to the computer reading and working on things for a little while. I’m not sure when but I knew I just didn’t feel like being involved with much of the world or coding or much of anything for a short while. So, I took a little personal vacation. I did some work at the office, just things that needed to be done and I messed around a bit at home. Read a book on dog behavior and communication and I played a good bit of Unreal Tournament for fun.

It was nice to use the computer just to goof off for a bit.

I also washed my car and kinda hung around the house and tried to figure out my dog a bit more with my pedantic knowledge gleaned from my recent reading.đŸ™‚

I think it was a break I needed. I get tired, occasionally, of answering the same questions and dealing with the same problems over and over again. I don’t like feeling burnt out so it’s probably worth while to back away for a bit from time to time.

My holiday season was pretty nice, too. Home with the family and the girl for most of xmas. Got to see my elder brother which is a not-that-often occurrence these days. Got some useful presents and no frivolous cruft this year. Probably the only present I was surprised by was a new pocketknife my dad gave me. It’s pretty cool. I gave some fun gifts that I was happy about and, in general, did as little as humanly possible for a few days.

I tried to keep my email pruned down to a humane amount to inflict on myself Right now I think I have 125 or so unread messages and 44 in my yum vfolder. I’m sure I’ll wince at some of them but, well, you can’t always expect a

Anyway – that’s why I’ve been absent from the world of computers and linux and what not for the past few days. I should land back in reality by monday or so.

Leave a Reply

