blogless

March 6, 2005

I’ve been working a lot lately and making some real progress on a number of items. I’ve not felt like writing very much, maybe it’s b/c I’ve been writing what seems like a never-ending stream of email. It’s amazing how much I can write in any given month. I spent today working at the office. This has become uncommon for me to do on a saturday but there were somethings I wanted to get done and being there enabled me to sit in front of items and test them and what not. Tomorrow is going to be spent hanging out with the girl and doing some fairly domestic things:

We’re going to a bunch of open houses of places we cannot afford. Additionally, we’re not really looking to buy a house so it’s an excellent practice in window shopping. Then, I hope to convince her to go to Ecko and look at tables. I’d like to get a larger dining room table. We both end up sitting and working at the dining room table. It’s this 4 foot diameter circular ikea table, it’s very sturdy and has a nice simple finish. To be truthful, I love it. (Like all things the girl owns it’s simple and graceful yet ridiculously quality, to be clear, I’m jealous of her ability to select these items, then again, I like to think I am an item she selected as well and therefore confer to me the aforementioned qualities.) If all goes well we shall come home victorius and either laden with a table or eagerly expecting one.

I watched a couple of movies tonight. One was crap and it shall not be mentioned. The other was Head in the Clouds. I enjoyed this movie immensely. It started out seeming like a great deal of fun then WWII arrived, chronologically and it became much deeper, much more involving. It was a love story and as much as it was panned by the various commenters on imdb, I enjoyed it.šŸ™‚. Not that I am a victim of obeying critics. I’m one of those special people who think that Hudson Hawk is a cinematic masterpiece and the type of films bruce willis should be doing. That and the Whole Nine Yards.

Yum: Much wonderful work has gotten done. Yum is faster than it has ever been and many bothans died to make it that fast. It should be exciting. I still have much pain to undergo, yet, but for FC4T1 it should be fun to see if people scream or shout. The sqlite backend that Gijs originally wrote has been augmented by Menno and Panu and even a bit by myself. Icon has written some new importing code use cElementTree (this won’t make it into Test1, though). With the cElementTree code the xml import is, at this time, 2-3x faster than it was. Once the metadata is imported and inserted into the db yum is actually incredibly fast to startup. Then, b/c of the DB backend it’s light memory-wise. Finally, it opens up avenues of devel like repoquery and making the rhn_applet_of_memory_suck much much lighter, though rumor has it there will be dbus involved!

Centos: synced up and setup the centos-4 trees for duke today. Working on duke-izing them. Mostly just changing some yum items for our local repos and using some features that I find useful but most people don’t know much about (like gpgkey and enabled=0). Centos is, unsurprisingly, looking rather stable and straightforward. This is good, this is the way it should be.šŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to trying some centos-3 to centos-4 yum upgrades. I’m curious how many things will keel over and die. Nevertheless I have a few boxes that I’d rather not reinstall if I have the option and I would prefer to get the performance boost of the 2.6 kernels. I doubt I’ll get to it tomorrow but I hope to get to an x86_64 install on monday at the latest. I wish my test environment was less dreadful.

Fedora Extras: Don’t believe what you read in the papers. Fedora extras is coming up fast. We’ve got over 700 packages (counting by srpm) in place now and the numbers are rapidly increasing as core sheds extra weight. We’re adding more and more contributors and the processes are slowly firming up. I know they’re not as rigid and defined as some folks would like but it’s a work in progress and I think I’m actually SEEING progress. And believe me, when someone like me says we’re seeing progress, it really means something.

I need to be working more on the build system but a lot of the work I’m doing on yum ties directly back into that. Right now we’re in a bunch of discussions about the build system especially as to how to authenticate and manage permissions for building. Mach uses a suid binary that only members of a certain group can access. This is reasonably good but there’s been some discussion of a root-running daemon that you send signals to via dbus. Then we don’t need a suid root binary and we could possibly write the daemon as a Derviced Class of YumBase. It would just have to listen for certain events in dbus and do what it was told. I’m sure it’s not that simple but it’s an idea. I’m not sure it’s a _good_ idea, though.

Leave a Reply

