Post of irritation

March 29, 2005

Logged into my bank account web interface and I’m greeted with:

Due to our upcoming conversion on the weekend of April 1, you will not have access to history on your account from the internet prior to April 1. If you want to keep a copy of your account history, then please print the history for each month you wish to keep by going to the Account Summary screen for the account in question.

My first thought is that this is a poorly timed joke. My second thought is that this is an extremely poorly run system. I understand upgrades sucking. But cmon? ALL data prior to the conversion is just lost? This is a financial institution surely this is not an acceptable solution. Worries the hell out of me that a lot of open source developers I know have better quality-control standards than my bank.

Leave a Reply

