One of those days

May 16, 2005

Yesterday was one of those days. It started out reasonably well. Seemed like things were lining up and then the afternoon hit. I got a phone call from someone who was doing his best to piss me off and trying to make me feel bad about myself. It was a choice combination. However, I agree with Eleanor Rooseveldt – “no one can make you feel inferior without your consent” so I stood my ground and made it clear that I’m glad he decided to tell me his opinion but I just can’t bring myself to care. It amuses me, though. Not more than a month ago I received a meritorious service award from the university for, in many ways, doing exactly what it was this person wanted me to not do. The gist of it was he didn’t like that when I disagreed with someone I tried to drum up support amongst the affected set of people to bolster my opinion. I think he really disliked it b/c I don’t agree with him and made other people not agree with him.

All this made me think about this job some, though. I’ve been here about 5.5 yrs and maybe its time I start thinking about whether this is enough of a run or not. Job hunting sucks but maybe it’s a good time to think about moving and changing somethings in my life habits at the same time. I’m not quite 30 and maybe I should be evaluating the important things. I’ve enjoyed working here b/c I’ve been able to spend a bunch of time working on items for linux and open source development. I’ve helped projects, started projects, moved things along and I like that I have something to show for it. I like that there are lots of people using a program I wrote and following suggestions I gave. That’s cool, to say the least. Though maybe I need to evaluate some options. It’s been a long while since I last looked around the job market seriously and I honestly don’t know what to expect anymore. We’ll see, a change of environment might be fun.

Leave a Reply

