LCA 2006 report

January 24, 2006

Been here since sunday (saturday for the otherside of the planet I’m normally on). After the first day of going to sleep at 6pm we’re finally on a normal sleep schedule. I’ve been able to wake up at 6:30am or so and get down to breakfast by 7:45am and over the conference by 8:45. I’m feeling productive even though I’ve done exactly nothing. Well, that’s not entirely true. I’ve got some not-indexed and not-refined pictures up and some more to add when the next lull in the bandwidth use occurs.๐Ÿ™‚

Of some note ( I guess) is that on the plane into dunedin eunice and I sat next to the wife of a player on the all blacks. Now, of course, that means nothing to me, but I’ve heard this is a brush with greatness. Her name was Sally, no clue what her husband’s name is.๐Ÿ™‚

Moving around dunedin has been quite easy though we’ve walked more than we usually do. My calves have acclimated to it though so I’m not feeling too much of it today.

I’ve finally met Menno. He seems well and lest anyone ever feel sorry for him remember that he’s been gallivanting around europe for the past little bit mostly snowboarding and meeting women.

Sat in for the beginning of the Gnome mini conf and I felt good about heckling Jeff a little bit and I got in an almost-obligatory mention of the Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell, which, it turns out, Jeff and Andy (of javagnome fame) have read. mmmm – connectors….

Speakers dinner last night was fun but Eunice and I made the poor choice of going the same place the night before for dinner so we had really serious italian food, again. Had a good time talking to the girlfriend of the guy directing things here. She helped us figure out what a whole assortment of odd kiwi phrases actually mean. So, many thanks to Raewyn for her help.

I’ve been sitting here beefing up my notes and trying to stop being nervous about tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

