long, but different day

February 17, 2006

Work today was not all that different: some long term projects iterated along. I felt overwhelmed by some of the stuff I need to accomplish and was fidgety at my lack of focus on many of these. I think I need to sit down and identify the blocker tasks that slow down many other things. But that was work.

For lunch I biked up to wellspring and sat and didn’t talk about work at all, which is good and then back to work to try and keep from getting unnecessarily mad about things that seem to be increasingly beyond my control.

Then I got an email on the durham bike and pedestrian mailing list. It said they were having a no-drop group night ride on the American Tobacco Trail tonight at 7:45 and anyone was invited.

So, I showed up at the right time and eventually we headed out. It was a small group of 5 of us but it was very pleasant to ride along on a comfortable evening. Everyone was very nice to me even though I was obviously the least experienced person present (evidenced by my lack of anything stretchy or lycra-y). I think I kept up reasonably well and while I’m sure I was more tired than everyone else when we finished I really enjoyed riding in a group of folks. Additionally, I got to go all the way down the Tobacco Trail, something I hadn’t done yet, and the end part surprised me with how far it was along.

I ended biking 25 miles in total (commute + lunch + ride) today which is a damn-site further than I normally do. I’m a little sore right now but not excruciatingly so. I hope to do it again next week, weather permitting.

Other stuff: I know I haven’t been posting about fedora and yum and other things like that recently. I’ve been a little out-of-usefulness for a little while and I’m not quite sure what all is the matter but I’ve been thinking about it a lot recently and I think I know what I need to do. It’s just a matter of getting up the drive to do it.

ah, Motivation, you cruel wench.

Leave a Reply

