bike commuting and non-computer-y goodness.

April 1, 2006

I’ve been riding my bike to work since I changed jobs at duke. In the beginning I was mostly getting on the bike about 3 days a week now I’m up to pretty much every day. Friday I had a number of errands to run at lunch time. I went out, grabbed lunch. Ran by the bike shop to see when a tune up would be a good plan. Then down to Food Lion to pick up canned green beans for cori. Next, home to drop of the ten cans of green beans (which weigh markedly more than you might expect). Next, grab some water get back on and go off to bed, bath and beyond human suffering to get a water filter and then to pet smart (in the same shopping center) to get a new collar (a misbegotten one at that).

All in all, not a bad set of trips and I wasn’t beaten up or worn out from it at all. Probably totaled out to something like 6 or 7 miles, at most, though. I haven’t driven my car in well over a week, though we did take Eunice’s car out for a short journey to ch-hill. In all, though, the bike commuting has to be doing something for my relative footprint.

This morning we got up, biked over (using our super-secret no-car route) to the farmer’s market. Collected a lot of vegetables and baked goods, then back to wellspring for toothpaste. Only like 4-5 miles, but it was pleasant and I kinda liked seeing the tops of the radishes sticking out of my panniers.

I took a bit of a nap due to the slices of pineapple-apricot bread I had for breakfast then got down to beating up my todo list. New, self-watering container of lettuce is planted. This time a bit less densely to see if I can get better results. We’re supposed to head back out in a little bit to get some coffee for the girl and chase around the neighborhood to see which houses are for sale.

Leave a Reply

