progress, of a sort

April 13, 2006

Car:

I cleaned out my car, got it washed and waxed and took a trip to carmax today. I waited around while they appraised it and they came back with an amount that made it not-quite a no-brainer. So, I left and thought about it some. Talked to some folks who I normally talk to about decisions like this. But it was a simple statement by the girl that clenched it for me. She said “But what are you getting out of your car by having it?” She was right, of course. The car had been sitting in the driveway more-or-less unused for the last 2 or so months. It was eating up money and not gaining in value while not providing in obvious service to me or anyone else. I returned to carmax, with her following in her car, and sold mine. I got enough for it to come out right-side-up on my car loan and to put a significant dent in my student loan. While I’m not quite debt-free I’m closer than I was. One more month and I’ll be completely debt-free, I think. Just in time to launch into a massive amount of debt to buy a house, if we decide to do that.🙂

So, we are not car-free but we are down to one car between the two of us and that one’s use is definitely light.

I was reading bike forums tonight and I stumbled on a page for estimating commuting costs. It appears I was using up an additional $608/month when I was driving to work. When I stopped driving to work the expenses dropped to $450/month but still owning the car took its toll. It’s nice to see the obvious fuel savings.

Reading

I’m almost finished with the weather makers and I think I need to take a break from the bleak-future-outlook nonfiction for a while and maybe read something a little more playful. I bought a copy of the Tattooed Map – a book we found in the B&B we stayed at while in Dunedin, NZ. I only got to start it before we had to leave and I wanted to find out how it ends. I think that might be a good diversion before finishing The Long Emergency.

Bizarrely, the bloomberg energy price page has become a point of morbid fascination for me to watch oil prices creep up toward $70/barrel. I read it every day now and check it from time to time just to see how it will impact my own energy prices. Regular is $2.89/gallon at a lot of places around here and from what I’m seeing the rise is not quite finished for this particular spike and not even begun for the longer-term.

Yum and friends

Felt pretty good monday night when I was able to chew through a bunch of outstanding older bugs and I really seemed to make a dent in some of my backlog. I think we’ve solved the comps-has-changed-now-mock-is-broken problem and once those last couple of patches are checked a new mock version should come out to simplify everyone’s lives, sorta.

I was also able to refine some things in reposync and after talking with che for a while on irc I think it might be useful enough to get it cleaned up and available in yum-utils.

Finally, I got through the backlog of yum patches I needed to review and/or commit and I even wrote a couple of related emails for the devel branch. Now to figure out the provides bug that’s been reported on 2.6.0 and get it fixed before releasing 2.6.1. Hopefully, that can happen tomorrow or this weekend.

Work

Work has been not-so-great, recently. For a variety of reasons I don’t want to talk about here it has been my least favorite place to be. It’s bad when things at work are so painfully de-motivating that they impact other portions of your life. Sadly the demotivation is a result of trying to change things to make the environment a lot more reliable and meeting A LOT of resistance. It makes me sad. I think I’m going to have to start segmenting my time more coarse-grainedly like I did in physics about 10 months ago. It’s the only way I’m going to be able to be productive on things that actually matter to me while maintaining some semblance of sanity. I thought that problem would get better with this new job but I had underestimated the reactionary impulse of various factions. We’ll see how the next few months go. If things continue as they have for the last month I’ll be evaluating my options much more closely. It’ll be a shame if it goes that way. Much potential would be squelched.

Leave a Reply

