irc.linux.duke.edu is no more

October 20, 2006

For a long time the linux@duke admins (who used to be more than just me) ran
an irc daemon on irc.linux.duke.edu. It was used by mostly internal folks to
duke as an informal location for staff/students/etc to talk and kinda geek
out. It was occasionally used for emergency collaboration when lots of
things went wrong at the same time at duke.🙂

there was one main channel: #dhg. DHG was an abbreviation of ‘Duke Hackers
Guild’ which was an idea dreamed up by some [under]grad students who wanted
to get people together to work on open source projects. That never really
materialized but the name stuck. We evolved a number of tools as a result of
that channel. A quote-retaining irc bot named at first dhgbot then kibot
which had a nearly unlimited number of funny comments from almost 7 years of
people being odd on #dhg.

In the last 8 months, for reasons I’d rather not get into, it was not being
used. #dhg moved to be called #dhg-ng or something like that on another irc
network/daemon. I think it’s on distributed.net somewhere but I was
specifically not invited and I’m fairly sure I know why. Oddly I don’t
regret or resent that. If I felt bad about something I did I would have
apologized. But I didn’t feel bad nor apologize. So that must mean
something.

As it became obvious that the irc channel was no longer being used I set a
couple of timeouts and I finally shut down the daemon and closed the port on
that hosts firewall.

In an odd way it’s something that was neat about the first 7 years of my
time at duke that was turned off when I shutdown that daemon, today. I
didn’t always enjoy being on #dhg and I know that some of the time other
people didn’t enjoy my being there, either. Despite that, there were years
of amusement and discussion that I remember fairly positively.

Leave a Reply

