migrated my blog, mostly

November 29, 2006

Took some time tonight and hunted around for blog software. Then I just said ‘screw it’ and opened an account on wordpress.com. That way someone else can muck with the software side of running it while I can simply be a user of it. I know, it doesn’t sound like me but I don’t feel like chasing versions of wordpress all the time and it’s all running on open source software so I don’t feel any constriction in using it. Now, if we just had an open source flickr I’d be quite pleased with the world.

So I’ve taken some pains to make sure that old links from google to old pages still work and I’ll probably be working on making the domain show up more nicely than skvidal.wordpress.com but in the meantime it is easy to work with so, yay!

4 Responses to “migrated my blog, mostly”

  1. nicomachus Says:

    Glad you’re back up and running… looks like a clean, simple site. Isn’t it nice to let someone else do all the hosting, maintaining?

  2. skvidal Says:

    Mostly it is. I’m enough of a control freak that it doesn’t give me all the warm fuzzies but I also like that the ‘export’ function is only a click away.

  3. kOoLiNuS Says:

    so welcome to wordpress.com !
    🙂

    Now i can suggest you to have a look at the tag/categories usage made possibile on this hosting.

    I’ve talked a bit of it here:
    http://koolinus.wordpress.com/2006/11/04/playing-with-wordpresscom/

    and here:
    http://koolinus.wordpress.com/2006/04/12/tagging-on-wordpresscom/

    see ya around !

  4. Andy Says:

    Oh, and did not know about it. Thanks for the information …


Leave a Reply

