weekend

January 16, 2007

party at a friends house was actually pretty nice. Lots of folks I don’t see much anymore and I don’t recall horribly offending anyone. It’s a shame the party had to be a going away party, though. My friend is off to california and while that makes me a little sad it’s better for her.

Saturday was random garden-prep work and some de-ivying of some of the bushes. I also figured out where the rain-barrel should connect to the downspout. However, I need to get some sort of stand for it so it has adequate height to make some pressure. We ran around for a while on saturday over to the thrill and did some misc errands. Mostly just trying to drop off some books at the used book store. Then we came home. I rode up to movie store for “The Illusionist” which turned out to be entirely worth the rental cost. Sunday I spent a good deal of the day prepping for a system update/downtime, cleaning the bikes and fixing misc things. Took a number of pictures and failed to learn the ‘manual’ features of my camera. Sunday night/Monday morning we had an outage for a server to upgrade it from a completely-unpatchable to an older but still patchable version of linux. The outage went relatively smoothly with only one hitch related to mkinitrd and the kernel. It was nice watching software I wrote work pretty much as intended. The outage was done and finished by 3:30am and I was back home. It was nice to ride home in the relative still and quiet of the early morning hours. Cruising down anderson street really early in a temperate 55F was pleasant. Puffing up Carolina a bit and losing a little bit of focus due to how long I’d been up wasn’t too bad. No cars on the road at that hour to make it dangerous. All sensible people were in bed.

Today we did some planning on the garden for the spring and bought a bunch of seeds and some new raised beds. Much progress there. If all goes well we’ll have a whole mob of things growing by about mid-may.

Tonight I uploaded all of the pictures I’ve taken in the last 2 weeks – the first weeks of the new year. It’s hard to imagine that its only been 2 weeks since the year started. It seems like so much longer.

Fudcon is coming up in 2 weeks (roughly). I think the yum hackfest will probably end up being me, jeremy and james sitting around trying to get the download-db-files mechanism working among a few other speed ups. Unless I find the time to get that in the next week or so. Hopefully yum 3.1.0 will come out this week once I check that all the patches to 3.0.X filtered up to HEAD.

Anyway – off to make todo lists and then to bed.

Leave a Reply

