People are stupid

September 10, 2007

Eunice and I were walking Cori in Bolin Forest tonight near our house in Carrboro. Walking along I smelled some folks smoking cigarettes and I told them to be careful with them b/c we’re in a bad drought and the butts or ash is enough to set something on fire. That’s not stupid in and of itself. Except for the smoking being crappy for you and doing anything like that is fairly dumb but not dumber than normal.

We walked on a bit more and found 6 votive candles lined up on a log. All around the log were pine needles. Very, very dry pine needles. I scooped them up (they were still hot on the bottom and the wax sloshed a bit as I did that) and I walked the rest of the way back muttering indecencies under my breath. I talked to one of the neighbors and told her to keep an eye out. She told me to call the cops and report it. I realized she was right and I did.

All I have to say is: We’re in a probably record-breaking drought. It’s september and leaves are dry and fallen everywhere. It hasn’t rained any appreciable amount in weeks. What kind of stupid are you that you don’t understand that dry-forest + fire == BAD BAD NEWS?

4 Responses to “People are stupid”

  1. Michael B Says:

    Yeah, there’s no limit on human stupidity

  2. doh Says:

    Some people thing -all means -all_active_repos. And you should have to read the fine print instead of expecting reasonable semantics.

  3. skvidal Says:

    to ‘doh’:
    you somehow think the semantics of some program that updates packages compares, at all, with starting a forest fire?

    Glad to see you’ve got your priorities straight.


Leave a Reply

