weekend thus far

September 16, 2007

On friday I spent all day being the booth babe for fedora/red hat at the software freedom day event at UNC. Max was giving a talk in the morning and we spent the rest of the day answering questions and talking to people. The OLPC I brought along went over fairly well, too. It helped to draw people in. We thought we were going to have lots of schwag left to take home but we didn’t have anything. It was all gone – even the temporary tatoos of shadowman. Talked to a lot of people, some of them were very positive and a lot of people, I think, simply had no idea what fedora had been doing recently. They’d stopped paying attention after FC1 and hadn’t been back. Lunch with Tom and Chris and Max at Carrburritos, all very good.  It poured down rain for a good portion of the day and I don’t think there was a sad face anywhere about this rain. NC has needed rain for a good long while now and this rain helped. It won’t make the difference to stop us being in a drought but it will make it feel a bit better.

On saturday we had a fairly busy day: Farmer’s Market.  Eunice went off to take pictures of dogs for the spokesdog contest for the APS. I took the tandem over to the bike shop for some work and to put on some pedals I picked up at the durham bike coop last weekend. Then I walked home and picked up some bread on the way. I got home and showered and waited around a bit for some people to come look at the townhouse to see about renting it so the girl and I can get our of our lease🙂. Then we hung out a bit, read email, books, had a lovely late lunch comprised of food from very nearby🙂. Another couple came by to see the house and 2-3 hours later I walked the dog and then we headed back out to the bike shop to pick up the bike and then figure out dinner. We biked over to el patio loco and had a lovely (if a bit larger than we expected) dinner. Back to the bike shop for the bike-in movie night. It was a movie about the black label bike club. It seemed a little like a documentary on self-destructive overprivileged white kids but maybe I’m being a bit cynical. :)  Rode home and it was chilly by then – maybe 50F. I was in shorts and a tshirt so I was a bit colder than I expected to be. But it felt like fall, like the orange tint of October was just waiting for us, back in tree-covered Durham.

Slept with the windows open last night and had a good solid chill. A cup of tea before bed helped that, too. Woke up this morning to about 55F so threw on the robe when I got up. Sat out on the porch reading my morning mail and rss feeds. Watched a hawk soar around above pine treetops and listened to some crows caw. It’s beginning to feel like Fall and I remember why, beyond it having my birthday in it, that I love this time of year. High of 77F today, just about perfect for a ride up to brunch and then maybe wandering a little bit afterward.

“October was in the chair, so it was chilly that evening…”

Leave a Reply

