torrent tracker software

February 8, 2008

Dear LazyWeb,

It seems like all the torrent tracker software is slowly dissolving:

bittorrent: 5.2.0 is the last open source version. The new versions are closed and therefore full of doom. If anyone has forked the last open version and is working on it I’d love to know that, too.

ctorrent: not obviously being maintained and not obviously designed to be a standalone tracker

osprey: not been updated in quite some while. Looks cool, developed by cool people. Still – last updated in 2006 fills me with dread

So what torrent trackers are all the cool kids using these days?

thanks

12 Responses to “torrent tracker software”

  1. daniel Says:

    If you need a high-performance tracker with minimal footprint, then Opentracker (http://erdgeist.org/arts/software/opentracker/) might be worth considering.

  2. Jeremy Says:

    I use an Apache module called mod_bt. Fits in nicely with your existing Apache config, and not heavyweight at all.

    Installable on Debian within seconds by installing the package "libapache2-mod-bt"

    Have fun.🙂

  3. ilia Says:

    I run at 2 PCs Azureues http://azureus.sourceforge.net/ yes it is java but tracker works I am looking for lightweight replacement.

  4. Clint Savage Says:

    I’d say that the best *free* tracker I’ve found by far is rtorrent (libtorrent comes along too). This tool is not only functional, but snazzy. Its a text based tracker, fully configurable and easy to manage.

    Here’s the website, and I believe its available these days in the fedora repo.

    Here are some tutorials I wrote a while back:

    http://fedora-tutorials.com/2007/05/27/rtorrent-an-introduction/
    http://fedora-tutorials.com/2007/06/09/rtorrent-the-options/

    Here’s the actual site itself as well.
    URL – http://libtorrent.rakshasa.no/wiki

    Cheers,

    Clint

  5. matthias Says:

    the really cool kids probably programm their own tracker😉

  6. salmansakura Says:

    very nice your blog

  7. slackbp Says:

    >bittorrent: 5.2.0 is the last open source version. The new versions are closed

    No, you can still download open-source versions from bittorrent.com–just look for a link to the Linux, source code, and older versions. I just downloaded v.5.2.2.

  8. Smithe950 Says:

    Hi there, I found your site by way of Google while searching for a comparable matter, your web site got here up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks. gddddeagcgdacegc

  9. Johnf130 Says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it gfadaabaedce


Leave a Reply

