laptop saga end

June 17, 2008

So, after all the mess trying to order a laptop I was contacted by someone from lenovo US. He wanted to know what could be done to retain my business. I told him I liked the laptops over all (if only for the number of mouse buttons) but I was very displeased with the service I was given. I told him, if I find another refurbished laptop to buy, I’d appreciate it if you could do what you can to expedite the shipping so I can get it before I need to leave for fudcon.

So, I found another laptop to buy, bought it, sent him the order information and lo’ and behold the laptop showed up today. I’m rather pleased this occurred and I just wanted to say so publicly. It’s a shame it had to be such a godawful mess to get here but it’s good to have a problem addressed when things do go wrong.

4 Responses to “laptop saga end”

  1. loupgaroublond Says:

    Would this problem have been fixed had you not posted to Fedora Planet? What if you weren’t Seth Vidal? You would be just one more abused customer.

  2. Seth Vidal Says:

    I don’t think my name carries much recognition but I’m glad to be able to produce some sort of change b/c of publicity and crankiness.

  3. Петър Says:

    By the way have you got the X61s model? Are you aware of the issue in the CPU FAN speed calculation algorithm? It counts the T of a device sitting in the other end of the laptop and after the 10th minute the fan is non stop at full speed. I bought X61s few days ago and I was really disappointed by that. I had to use a script to “manually” control the fan.
    Anyway, glad you finally got your new laptop. I was not able to make the lirc work with it, if you manage to produce a workable state of this I will very very much appreciate any hints;)


  4. Ooooooh nice. I need to save up for one of those. I like 3 button laptops. They make my life so much easier.


Leave a Reply

