lenovo warranty call

January 26, 2009

The battery in my much agonied lenovo x61s completely died last week. I’ve had the laptop for about 6-7 months now and the battery is completely dead. Would not charge at all. I tested it out on another laptop to see if it was my charger or the battery interface. No joy. I go to the lenovo website. I check the warranty info – it says warrantied for another 6 months. I give lenovo a call. I’m on hold for about 5-10 minutes. (Granted it was friday morning at 9am but that’s neither here nor there).  I talk to the rep who tells me that my battery warranty expired in July of 2007. Since I’ve only  had the laptop for 6 months I suggest to him that it is unlikely. He agrees and realizes someone mis-typed something. Gets the battery warranty matched up to the laptop warranty and tells me they’re shipping me a new battery to replace the one I have.

I suspected it would take a while and in the meantime I’m tethered to my power cord (no fun at all). I figured for at least half the week.

Fast forward to this morning at about 9:30am. I’m going out the door to go fetch coffee for the household. I turn the corner onto the side porch and what’s sitting there? A big box with a battery from lenovo.

Good show lenovo warranty fulfillment people.

5 Responses to “lenovo warranty call”

  1. katzj Says:

    I had a pretty similar experience getting a Lenovo battery replaced


  2. One of the reasons I so much insist on Lenovo products. Amazing.

  3. markitude Says:

    Hey,

    Thanks for your positive story. Aside from your initial entitlement glitch, it’s nice to hear that Lenovo came through for you.

    Best regards,

    Mark

  4. skvidal Says:

    Mark,
    well, I figure if I can bitch about problems in public I should be able to write about good things, too.

    -sv

  5. Erin Says:

    I’m thinking of replacing my Dell w/ a Thinkpad. Which Lenovo Warranty did you choose?

    I can’t decide if I should shell out the extra dough for accidental damage. It looks to me like the basic warranty covers motherboards and LCD displays so I was thinking of saving a couple hundred bucks.

    Your thoughts?


Leave a Reply

