First Finished Object

August 7, 2009




First Finished Object

Originally uploaded by skvidal

While I’m kept from riding and moving bikes about with my ridiculous injury I said I would do some light weight things. One of them was knitting. Lo’ and behold I have completed an object. It is a red hat-colored red hat.🙂

Actually it was just going to be red but I decided to be silly in the middle and I wanted to learn how to change colors. I should make a blue and white one so fedora doesn’t feel lonely.

But I knit it – on my own size 6.5 (I think) needles and I switched over to double-pointed needles at the end. Miss Chang was quite helpful. Many thanks to her.

3 Responses to “First Finished Object”

  1. ejchang Says:

    now everyone will want one! and you can join ravelry!🙂

    2 things:
    1- the needles are referred to as size 10.5 needles here in US. To the rest of the world, they’re 6.5 mm needles. The whole separate sizing system is very silly, but if you want to know, here’s a chart.

    2- if you want your next project to be fedora related, there’s always the fedora mittens.

  2. Bob Says:

    Good on ya! Knitting is a great hobby–it gives one something to do while watching TV, on the train or aeroplane and any other time.

    Plus it’s a useful skill in colder climates.

    Since you know how to use DPNs now, I encourage you to grab Schurch’s Sensational Socks book; it has several very easy methods to knit socks. They’ve a reputation for being difficult but really aren’t bad at all.

  3. Ben Williams Says:

    so it appears you have the knit and perl stitches down

    now it is time to knit a linux illusion scarf

    if you want the pattern let me know

    SG


Leave a Reply

