update

August 20, 2009

Had hernia surgery yesterday. The nerve block ALMOST worked but they missed a couple of sections b/c my spinal column is not as visible as other people’s (that’s code for I have a fat back).

So I woke up in a rather impressive amount of pain. Moving around is an adventure in “how will this hurt”. Eunice has been taking very lovely care of me. In general it feels like I was kicked repeatedly in my lower right abdomen by someone who thoroughly enjoys kicking.

I’m taking the rest of this week off to keep from being useless and dazed. I’m stopping the percocet and moving toward ibuprofen now. I’ve been around on irc and jabber a bit – but if anyone needs anything email me, directly. I’m looking at direct email a lot sooner than indirect email and I still have a metric arseload to sift through.

We have a new yum, createrepo, yum-metadata-parser and urlgrabber in rawhide and for all you people with fun ssl-based repos you’ll definitely like the urlgrabber and yum changes.

Count down starts today: 27 more days until I can ride a bike again.

15 Responses to “update”


  1. Nothing like pain requiring massive drugs. Good times.

    Hope you feel better soon. When you’re sufficiently recovered, we should all go out for some Durham dining adventure.

  2. Rex Dieter Says:

    Take care, enjoy the pampering, and get healthy.

  3. Peter Jones Says:

    Feel better soon, man.

  4. Max Says:

    Best wishes on a speedy recovery, Seth. See you soon! I’ll be making the ride up to Durham, maybe with gdk.

  5. Paul Nasrat Says:

    It’s been ages since we talked – take care and hope you feel better and are back mobile with and without wheels soon.


  6. Feel better soon, my friend. Many thanks for all the awesome work you do. I won’t be in Durham really soon but when I get down to that area dinner’s a must.

  7. Brad Says:

    Hey, it was good talking w/ you. Glad to hear you have all your parts in the right place now. Hope you get past the pain stage soon.


  8. So the happy friendly, long answered skvidal was due to an operation and medications? Ah man.. I knew it had to be too good to last.

    Hope you feel better soon🙂

  9. snerd Says:

    Get well soon, Seth.

  10. Kushal Das Says:

    Get well soon🙂

  11. well wisher Says:

    get well soon🙂
    ready to rock again…

  12. timlau Says:

    Hi Seth, Good luck with the recovery


  13. I hope you get well soon!

  14. Pedro Silva Says:

    Get well soon!

    I wish you a good and fast recovery!

    Best regards,

    Pedro
    Fedora Ambassador .pt


  15. Wow, hope the pain gets better soon Seth. Get well soon, my old friend.


Leave a Reply

