transition to f16 and other items

November 3, 2011

I spent a good bit of yesterday getting my system transitioned from f14ish/f15ish/mumble to f16rc4 from the xfce live install.

It took a while to get everything set up how I’m used to. I made the transition to claws from evo b/c I didn’t want to pull in the world with evo deps. I also transitioned some other tools around. One thing in particular though I kept was rhythmbox – I have a bunch of play lists in it and I didn’t feel like moving all those over to quodlibet.

However, rhythmbox has dropped rhythmbox-client for one reason or another and I use that quite a lot for the keys on my keyboard (fn-arrowkeys) which allow me to playpause/next/prev/stop whenever I need to. Trying to figure out how to fix that I ended up having to write this:

http://skvidal.fedorapeople.org/misc/rhythmbox-client

Not the most beautiful but it gets the job done. I tried introspecting the rhythmbox shell dbus interface but I couldn’t find a way to make music play/pause or anything so I gave up and when with the mpris one. It all felt a little silly.

anyway – you can bind those keys in the keyboard settings configuration in XFCE to that script with –next/–previous/–playpause

If there was another, simpler, way to do that google could not find it for me.

One Response to “transition to f16 and other items”

  1. Greg Says:

    Dude, thank you so much for yuour rhythmbox-client script. I couldnt have written that. I dont know why Fedora isnt shipping rhythmbox-client anymore. The multimedia keys work in Gnome3,
    but not XFCE. Anyway, you’re my hero. Thanks a bunch.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

