yum updating to fedora 12 from fedora 11

November 17, 2009

Yes,  I know it’s not supported, but neither is anything else. I took the time on friday to try out the yum update and it worked swimmingly. Here are the steps I took:

0. I ran pybackpack and duplicity and backed up all my stuff to remote

1. download fedora-release and fedora-release notes from the f12 mirrors

2. yum localinstall them

3. yum clean all

4. screen

5. yum update yum\* rpm\*

6. yum update python\*

7. yum update glibc\*

8. yum update kernel

9. yum update

10. yum groupinstall “GNOME Desktop Environment” base core

11. yum remove specspo mlocate sendmail

12. logout and reboot

It took a while to get everything and I had to break a few pieces up in order to make all the pkgs fit when I downloaded them but everything else just worked.

Proceed at your own risk.

12 Responses to “yum updating to fedora 12 from fedora 11”

  1. Rui Gouveia Says:

    Have you tried the util?

    preupgrade

    • GhaSh Says:

      I try preupgrade, but for me it isn’t working, after click reboot system is rebooting and start f11, maybe I shoud do sth. else, but I don’t know what.
      This method works for me.

  2. skvidal Says:

    Not for f11->f12. But in the past I have. I even wrote some of preupgrade.

  3. Ant Bryan Says:

    thanks, worked for me, besides a few pkgs in f11 that were newer than those in f12.


  4. […] 11 system to Fedora 12. How do I do it using Yum? A. Learn how to do it from the Yum Guru himself Yum upgrading to fedora 12 from fedora 11 or browse this page on Fedora […]

  5. Jim Says:

    Sorry, but from where, specifically, can I download the items in step #1?

    thanks.


  6. Upgrade from Fedora 11 Leonidas to Fedora 12 Constantine on x86_64 architecture went smoothly with RPM Fusion enabled as well. I added yum-upgrade-helper and merge-conf to facilitate the transition. Old kernel from F11 are still available.

  7. Helper Says:

    @skvidal
    “Yes, I know it’s not supported, but neither is anything else.”

    Didn’t quite understand what you meant here.
    What about running yum -y upgrade after step 3.

    Regards,
    Helper

  8. Colin Brace Says:

    very helpful this, thanks.


  9. […] 11 system to Fedora 12. How do I do it using Yum? A. Learn how to do it from the Yum Guru himself Yum upgrading to fedora 12 from fedora 11 or browse this page on Fedora […]


Leave a comment