my broken memory and debuginfos

April 26, 2007

I was talking to someone on irc #fedora-devel the other day about needing a way for a user to install the debuginfo for a certain package and all of that package’s immediate dependencies’ debuginfo packages. However, I cannot remember who it was. Sad, isn’t it.

Anyway – I wrote debuginfo-install tonight which does just that.

I’ll see about getting it included in yum-utils if it what it does makes sense to whomever it was who was asking about it. 🙂

6 Responses to “my broken memory and debuginfos”


  1. […] source repo for the package also, also don’t know how to automate that) Now Seth Vidal wrote debuginfo-install to get the debug packages (and dependencies) for a package. Now if we could automate all these […]

  2. Jens Knutson Says:

    LOVING this tool already – makes life much easier for me as a tester, and less aggravating for for the GNOME and Fedora devs, I’m sure.

  3. Nicolas Mailhot Says:

    Hi Seth,

    This was probably me, and including this tool in yum-utils makes every possible sense to me (and then the GNOME debug page could be updated to document this)

    Thank you 🙂

  4. Mark Schlegel Says:

    Is there anything about this debuginfo-install
    script that would make a once stable gcc setup
    unstable? I ran on my fedora 8 machine:

    debuginfo-install boost.i386 gcc.i686 glibc.i386
    (or whatever my gdb told me to run)
    and since then when I use threading
    my application segmentation faults. It installed
    about 20 packages so I don’t just want to
    uninstall them all without cause.

    Mark

  5. Seth Vidal Says:

    nothing in the script. it is possible, I guess, that the debuginfo packages could be adding something that would make certain threading break.

  6. Ian Main Says:

    YES! Thank you! Very nice tool. As a developer I find it very handy.


Leave a comment